Henry Tyndale School

Learning & achieving together

Key Stage 1

Key Stage 1 Curriculum Statement


The Key stage 1 curriculum continues to build and develop on the 7 areas of the EYFS.

  • Communication and language

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development

  • Understanding the world

  • Creative arts and design


Within the KS1 curriculum we offer tailored and differentiated teaching and learning to meet the individual needs of all our pupils. Three curriculum pathways are offered;


  • Informal

  • semi-formal

  • and formal


These pathways may be combined so that individual pupils are fully able to develop their potential.


Additional activities to develop individual skills are also taught with a focus on;

  • communication

  • social interaction and integration

  • sensory

  • mobility and motor skills


and are timetabled within the weekly taught sessions in order to meet the complex needs of our pupils.


All lower school pupils have access to the main school facilities such as;

  • soft play

  • play areas

  • hall – for PE and physical activities, dinner and assemblies


and as needed;


  • hydrotherapy pool

  • sensory integration rooms

  • sensory hall sessions

  • sensory room


Classes have their own timetables and taught sessions as well as planned focused mixed class and ability grouping to ensure that all pupils have access to a curriculum that develops their individual learning.


Rolling Plan for Key Stage 1