Henry Tyndale School

Learning & achieving together

Key Stage 4

Key Stage 4 Curriculum


The emphasis of Key Stage 4 education is to widen the range of experiences that the pupils receive and to prepare them for the pathways to progression routes into post 16. This is facilitated through a 2 year curriculum program, focusing on skills students need to prepare for post 16 and adult life.


All students access accreditation through ASDAN in Key Stage 4, and units within the qualification combine to build a rich and varied personalised learning program. Modules are planned and delivered to meet each pupil’s Individual Learning Outcome, and to ensure that all pupils are able to access an accredited course that is appropriate to their needs.

The cornerstone of the curriculum is PSHE and Citizenship which runs through each lesson and throughout the school day. In addition there is a “taught” element of PSHE with progression and planning to take into account Business and Enterprise education and work related learning.

Curriculum Opportunities


Pupils take part in both a semi-formal and integrated curriculum, based on their individual needs.

Personal targets are identified in consultation with families, classroom staff and other professionals. These targets are based on current strengths and needs, and focus on fundamental learning and functional skills and work on further improving their understanding of the world. These areas include Communication, Cognition, Physical, Self Help and Independence.


Skills of social interaction and engaging with the world may well be the starting point. It is important to engage them in activities they enjoy to increase their quality of life; the integrated curriculum could focus on theme topics which are appropriate to Key Stage 4, for example, Space, Oceans. Delivery of the curriculum would be the means of the theme and concepts however the skills being targets are individual to each student to help them prepare them for adult life. 


Students following our semi-formal curriculum learn best when learning is related to their own experience. Some may learn through structured lessons, others will learn more effectively through functional activities, and yet others will respond well to a topic-based approach. The teaching approach reflects the age and learning style of the pupils concerned, and as such, is age appropriate, with the breadth of learning developing from the topic.


The semi-formal curriculum will include functional Mathematics and Literacy guided by the progression from Key Stage 3 meeting their individual learning targets and needs.


Students access creative arts, global awareness, community studies, Citizenship/Enterprise and leisure in the community supporting the skills they need in their communication, social interaction and integration and life skills into adulthood.


Students take part in PE, Cultural and global awareness which brings both community and international dimensions to the curriculum. The curriculum links work with our post 16 department building awareness and celebrating our local community, widening our understanding of diversity and understanding our own values.


Each term, students access an ‘elective’ course. These courses are chosen by the students and/or guided by their skills and areas of interest. ‘Elective’ topics could be horticulture, massage, photography, computing, walking.


Community Links
Links into the community, working on social skills, communication and choice-making, are made wherever appropriate to each module, and this also includes using community facilities. Students will accesses leisure opportunities each term. The focus is on PE and sport and what leisure opportunities are available for students their age. This could be bowling, link work with another school, attending sports festivals and or carrying out community based projects.



All pupils access accreditation through ASDAN’s ‘Preparing for Adulthood’ learning program, Transition Challenge. Transition Challenge offers a learner-centered, activity-based accreditation that can be undertaken with as much support as necessary.

There are two levels available:

Sensory: this program offers a developmental perspective for learners and rewards progression in learning and achievement

Introduction and Progression: the activities in this program cover the statutory programs of study for the Key Stage 4 National Curriculum, along with activities to develop the skills required for adult living


Students Learners will complete the required number of activities over the two years. Each module can be individually certificated however the aim is that all students complete all modules for a gold certificate of accreditation at the end of Key Stage 4.

There are four modules in the Sensory book: Communication and Interaction, Cognition, Physical, and Self-help and Independence. There are five modules in the Introduction and Progression book: Knowing How, Making Choices, Feeling Good, Moving Forward and Taking the Lead.


Transition to Post 16

In key stage 4 students take part in a range of activities and lessons which are designed to support them in their transition towards post 16. Routes into Post 16 are discussed with parents/carers and students during their time in key stage 4. Transition time is set up with post 16 and begins from January in the year the student becomes Y11. The amount of transition is, again, dependent upon student need